Barmes' game-ending catch in question
Photo shows ball touches ground vs. Cards on Sunday
DENVER -- Rockies second baseman Clint Barmes confirmed what the camera of an eagle-eyed fan showed: He did not have possession of the ball throughout his game-ending play Sunday, which was ruled a catch.
Barmes made the play on a soft Ryan Ludwick popup with runners at first and third in the ninth inning. Barmes then doubled Albert Pujols off first base, ending the Rockies' 4-3 victory.
Some thoughts on the play:
If you don't call it "the catch of the year," it's still the defensive play of the year. To hit the ground that hard and roll over, yet not have the ball squirt away is a feat in and of itself.
What's the big deal? The play isn't reviewable. And it's not like Barmes is going to stand up and say, "That ball landed." Even if he did, there's nothing in the rule book to allow for that.
It's good it wasn't a postseason game. The umpire down the right-field line would have been at roughly the same angle as the camera.
Barmes' quotes in an arranged media meeting on Tuesday weren't much different from Sunday afternoon, when he was asked if the ball hit the ground and he said he didn't know.
"I really don't know anything other than what I said on Sunday," Barmes said. "It all happened so fast and the ball ended up in my hand somehow, and I wasn't sure if it was from off the ground or before it hit the ground. All I know is whenever I rolled and popped up, the ball was in my hand perfectly like I'd reached down and grabbed it."
Thomas Harding is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.