© 2010 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

11/10/10 3:59 PM EST

Tulo, CarGo nab first Gold Glove Awards

DENVER -- Rockies shortstop Troy Tulowitzki and outfielder Carlos Gonzalez became the first Rockies players since 2004 to earn National League Rawlings Gold Glove Awards, it was announced Wednesday.

Tulowitzki, 26, and Gonzalez, 25, were chosen through voting by NL managers and coaches for the best defensive player at each infield position, catcher and pitcher, and the best three outfielders.

Tulowitzki broke a three-year run by the Phillies' Jimmy Rollins, who missed nearly half the season with injuries. Gonzalez won his first NL batting crown this year, but also impressed voters with his glove.

Gonzalez takes home the Gold Glove in the same year in which he won the NL batting title. Earlier this offseason, peers voted for Gonzalez as the Major League's Most Outstanding Player in the Players Choice Awards.

The last Rockies Gold Glove winner was Todd Helton, who won for the third time at first base in 2004. Tulowitzki also is the first Rockies shortstop to receive the trophy since Neifi Perez in 2000. Helton (three times), outfielder Larry Walker (five times), Perez, Tulowitzki and Gonzalez are the only players in club history to receive the award.

Even before Wednesday's announcement, Tulowitzki thought the trophy would look nice at the home of his father, Ken Tulowitzki.

"I owe a lot to him, no doubt about it," Tulowitzki said. "I'm sure he has a little mantel where he keeps a whole bunch of stuff. I'll probably keep it at his house."

Gonzalez was obtained from the Athletics in the post-2008 trade that sent star outfielder Matt Holliday to the Athletics. Gonzalez began gaining notice with his strong finish to the 2009 season and in the playoffs, and he followed that up with an even better year in 2010.

Purple and Gold
Carlos Gonzalez and Troy Tulowitzki are the fourth and fifth Rockies players to win a Rawlings Gold Glove Award.
Player Pos. Years
Carlos Gonzalez OF 2010
Troy Tulowitzki SS 2010
Todd Helton 1B 2001, '02, '04
Neifi Perez SS 2000
Larry Walker OF 1997-99, 2001, '02
Gonzalez said the only drawback to the season was when the Rockies faltered late and did not make the playoffs. Individual awards are fine, but Gonzalez wants more Rockies to share in the glory.

"We just need to be more consistent in our pitching, offense and defense -- we have to put all those things together," Gonzalez said.

Earlier this summer, it was announced that Tulowitzki earned his second Fielding Bible Award, which was voted on by a panel of 10 experts -- including statistical innovators John Dewan and Bill James and MLB.com's Peter Gammons -- who studied statistical data. However, in 2007, when Tulowitzki received his first Fielding Bible Award, he did not receive the Gold Glove in voting of coaches and managers.

"All you guys realize how much pride I take in my defense and if there's one thing in my whole career other than the World Series I want to win, it's a Gold Glove," Tulowitzki said.

The National League winners of the Rawlings Gold Glove Awards, with the number each has won in his career.
C Yadier Molina, Cardinals 3
1B Albert Pujols, Cardinals 2
2B Brandon Phillips, Reds 2
3B Scott Rolen, Reds 8
SS Troy Tulowitzki, Rockies 1
OF Michael Bourn, Astros 2
OF Carlos Gonzalez, Rockies 1
OF Shane Victorino, Phillies 3
P Bronson Arroyo, Reds 1

In 2010, Tulowitzki led NL shortstops in fielding percentage (.984), double plays (103), total chances per nine innings (5.15) and putouts per nine innings (1.78).

Gonzalez was as versatile as he was spectacular in the outfield. He played 55 games in center, 51 games in left and 34 games in right and had an outfield assist from each position.

He finished tied for ninth in the NL with eight outfield assists and had the second-best fielding percentage in the NL among outfielders, with a .996 mark.

Tulowitzki and Gonzalez have ascended to leadership roles among the Rockies. Gonzalez, who lives in Venezuela, said they will keep setting the example.

"We don't want to feel like this is good enough," Gonzalez said. "But we didn't get what we want, which is to play in the postseason. That's the way you have to think. You have to try to get better. If you feel comfortable, you get stuck."

This is likely not the end of the awards for Tulowitzki and Gonzalez. They're both prime candidates to receive Louisville Slugger Silver Slugger Awards, which will be announced Thursday.

Thomas Harding is a reporter for MLB.com. Read his blog, Hardball in the Rockies, and follow him on Twitter @harding_at_mlb. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.