© 2011 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

11/02/11 12:12 AM EST

Tulo takes home back-to-back Gold Gloves

Shortstop just third Rockies player to win award multiple times

Troy Tulowitzki's postseason honors continued to roll in Tuesday, as the Rockies shortstop received his second consecutive Rawlings Gold Glove Award, as voted by managers and coaches in the National League.

Tulowitzki became just the third Colorado player to receive more than one Gold Glove, joining five-time winner Larry Walker and three-time winner Todd Helton.

The 27-year-old had already been named the NL's All-Star shortstop by The Sporting News and he received the Fielding Bible Award on Monday as the Major Leagues' top defensive shortstop.

Coming off a season in which he hit .302 with 30 home runs and a career-best 105 RBIs, Tulowitzki is in line to win his second consecutive Silver Slugger Award as well, which will be announced Wednesday on the MLB Network at 4 p.m. MT.

The National League winners of the Rawlings Gold Glove Awards, with the number of Gold Gloves each has won.
C Yadier Molina, Cardinals 4
1B Joey Votto, Reds 1
2B Brandon Phillips, Reds 3
3B Placido Polanco, Phillies 3
SS Troy Tulowitzki, Rockies 2
LF Gerardo Parra, D-backs 1
CF Matt Kemp, Dodgers 2
RF Andre Ethier, Dodgers 1
P Clayton Kershaw, Dodgers 1

Tulowitzki beat out Ronny Cedeno of the Pirates and Alex Gonzalez of the Braves for the NL Gold Glove at shortstop in the new format, with winners announced during an hour-long program on ESPN2.

"Strong arm, big guy," said ESPN analyst Barry Larkin, a three-time Gold Glove shortstop himself during his playing days with the Reds. "People don't realize how big and intimidating this guy is. He's an offensive force, for sure. Defensively, with only six errors in 140 games, he's very, very good defensively."

Omar Vizquel, who has won 11 Gold Gloves at the position, compared the 6-foot-3 Tulowitzki to Cal Ripken Jr. in their physical nature while presenting the award.

"No doubt," Vizquel said. "He's tall with a strong arm. He moves like a lightweight, quick feet around second base. He has unbelievable ability at shortstop."

Tulowitzki becomes the youngest NL shortstop to earn two Gold Gloves since Ozzie Smith took home the second of his eventual 13 at age 26 in 1981.

Neifi Perez is the only other Rockies shortstop to win a Gold Glove, having earned the honor in 2000.

The rest of the NL Gold Glove winners were pitcher Clayton Kershaw (Dodgers), catcher Yadier Molina (Cardinals), first baseman Joey Votto (Reds), second baseman Brandon Phillips (Reds), third baseman Placido Polanco (Phillies), left fielder Gerardo Parra (D-backs), center fielder Matt Kemp (Dodgers) and right fielder Andre Ethier (Dodgers).

American League winners were pitcher Mark Buehrle (White Sox), catcher Matt Wieters (Orioles), first baseman Adrian Gonzalez (Red Sox), second baseman Dustin Pedroia (Red Sox), shortstop Erick Aybar (Angels), third baseman Adrian Beltre (Rangers), left fielder Alex Gordon (Royals), center fielder Jacoby Ellsbury (Red Sox) and right fielder Nick Markakis (Orioles).

Greg Johns is a reporter for MLB.com. Follow him on Twitter @GregJohnsMLB as well as his Mariners Musings blog. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.