08/07/12 3:02 AM ET
Disputed Victorino hit leads to Tracy's ejection
Rockies manager argues after umps overturn catch call in seventh
By Quinn Roberts / MLB.com
With a man on first and two outs, Victorino hit a sinking liner to Fowler. After first-base umpire Mike Estabrook originally ruled it a catch, the four umpires convened in front of second base, taking a few minutes to rule on the play before calling the ball a hit.
"I saw his hand from the dugout go completely underneath the ball," Tracy said. "I asked Dexter if he caught the ball. I wanted an honest answer and he said he caught it 100 percent."
After the call was made, Tracy threw his hat down in disgust, arguing with two of the umpires before finally walking off the field.
It marked Tracy's second ejection of the season, his first coming June 10 against the Angels.
"I understand and appreciate that the umpires are doing the very best they can to get call right, and yet in that case, I find it hard to believe how three other guys can weigh in being as far away from it as they were," Tracy said.
Dodgers manager Don Mattingly, who came out to argue the original call, said he wanted to make sure that the umpires checked with each other.
"That's the only thing I can do there is to get them to conference up, and once they do that, it's in their hands," Mattingly said.
After the ejection, Mark Ellis flied out to left fielder Carlos Gonzalez to end the inning.
"I have never seen that before, where we went into the dugout and came back out," Fowler said. "It was awesome to be able to come out after a first-and-third situation and get out of the inning. No damage done, but we were heated at the moment."
Quinn Roberts is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.